Eat the World 18: Belize

We finished this country a few weeks ago, but I’m just now getting around to posting the recipes and pictures (which are, admittedly, quite few and grainy–hey, I’m no professional!).

Official flag of Belize

Our menu was as follows: Belizean Beans & Rice with Fried Plantains (+ Donuts)

DONUTS!

DONUTS! (Please excuse the flash.)

I know, donuts? Ada has been on a big dessert kick lately, if you couldn’t tell by my meal plans, so I thought if the dinner was a major flop, I’d at least reward the kids for trying everything. I was skeptical of the recipe since it’s simply frying up pre-made biscuit dough from the can in donut form but I seriously shouldn’t have been. <–(To all English teachers: I apologize for that atrocious sentence but I’m not going to fix it.) Here’s the “recipe” I followed.

Now onward to the actual Belizean food! While I was cooking Dylan and Ada looked up information on Belize. I think that this really connected our actual eating with the point of why we are doing this culinary travel for her. In fact, she seems to really have embraced Eat the World and now asks to “eat a country” every other day. If only her ambition lined up with my ability (or energy)!

Belizean Beans & Rice serves 4
Usually this will be served alongside chicken or some other common protein but Dylan and I wanted something lighter so we just prepared this. I did tweak some of the recipe to fit our work.school schedule and I noted that in italics, it’s possible that it did affect the end flavor but our whole family still loved this dish and it is going to find it’s way into our typical food lineup.  
1 cup red kidney beans or 1 can of red kidney beans, rinsed
1 cup coconut milk or you can simply use the whole can
1 garlic clove
salt & pepper
2 cups rice
1 onions, sliced
1 piece of salt meat ( cut into small pieces) I omitted this for a vegetarian meal.
Directions
1.) Soften beans (soak first) with garlic. We skipped this step since we used pre-cooked, canned beans.
2.) Boil until tender and whole, adding salt meat (previously boiled to soften) when almost tender. Again this step was skipped since we had a vegetarian meal.
3. Add the milk, onion and seasonings. This is where I added the beans and garlic. Meaning, I just dumped all the ingredients except the rice together into a pot.
4.) Wash rice, then add to the beans. I know this seems tedious, but washing the rice removes the excess starch that makes the rice so sticky/mushy/icky. Rinse until the water runs pretty clear.
5.) Cook over gentle heat until liquid is absorbed.
6.) Stir gently with a fork, and add a little water from time to time until rice is cooked. I didn’t need to do this since I used the entire can of coconut milk.
Serve hot with a meat dish. Or not.

Fried Plantains One plantain serves 1-2

Fried plantains can be on the table in less than 5 minutes. It’s a tasty and easy side dish for South American/Caribbean countries and a go-to where our family is concerned. The girls gobbled up most of these before I even sat down for dinner.
1 plantain 

Vegetable oil for frying
Salt
1.) Heat a thin layer of vegetable oil in a frying pan. Meanwhile, cut plantains into long, oblong slices.
NOTE: Choose plantains that are yellow to black in color, not green. The green plantain in the photo was still under ripe and inedible. Green plantains behave like green bananas, after a few days the bland astringency gives way to a mildly sweet flavor.I opted to use my cast iron for this and it worked out great. I heated the oil over medium heat, just be careful that it doesn’t get too hot or you’ll burn your plantains!
2.) Fry in the oil on both sides until browned. I’d guesstimate that it’s probably about 3-4 minutes per side.
3.) Sprinkle immediately with salt. Serve hot.

Happy eating…next up 19: Benin!

Leave a Reply

