Calling all Instagram users

I’m sure most of you have heard the buzz about Instagram’s new terms of service. I’ve been reading and looking to find some answers but I’m still on the fence as to what I will do with my account.

I confess, I am a bit addicted. I like being able to take pictures and make them “arty.” I’m delusional I find it to be a fun and entertaining way to keep in touch with some family and friends that are far away. I prefer it over Twitter indefinitely and indulge my voyeuristic side looking at other moms’ crafts, baking/cooking, and interior decorating. I mean, for pete’s sake, my avatar is an Instagram photo!

However I am NOT comfortable with all the creepers and weirdos, all the sickos and perverts and whoever that role play “adoption” games on Insta. These people steal photos of naive unsuspecting parents that don’t have private accounts and use them in “cyber orphanages” where a virtual baby broker sets up adoptions with role-playing parents. I’m sure some of these people are kids who don’t know better or whose parents don’t know what they’re doing, but nonetheless  it’s freaking creepy. Because of this kind of stuff, I made my account private. I’m absolutely fine with not having a million + followers. I like having the ability to pick and choose who does and does not have access to my photo updates. I like being able to do an “insta background check” on potential “followers.”

These new terms of service? I don’t know know. They’re so vague and so unexplained by Facebook/Instagram that I’m wary of their capabilities. I’ve been poking around, reading articles, the following are just a few that I’ve read through but none of them explicitly contains a thorough statement/explanation from the company/parent company’s stance.

  1. What Instagram’s new terms of service mean for you
  2. How your Instagram photo might end up in an ad
  3. Should you be concerned about Instagram’s new privacy policy?
  4. Instagram’s new terms of service
  5. Instagram says it now has the right to sell your photos
  6. Everyone’s freaking out over Instagram turning users’ photos into ads (even though most grams are already ads)

For that reason, I’ve decided to delete my account until further notice. If it all turns out to be a hoax, so be it. I’d rather be an over-protective, slightly-neurotic, den mother than see mine and my family’s privacy dissolve for the sake of greed and consumerism. Besides, I could always reopen an account later.

If you use Instagram, what are you going to do?

Update: After some dialouge on facebook this morning, I was sent this link: No, Instagram can’t see your photos: what the new terms of service really mean It does clear up some vague information but it still does not address how private account users’ photos will be treated with the new terms of service. Will IG still use my photos so that people I have not approved can access them? 

3 thoughts on “Calling all Instagram users

  1. Thanks Rachel! I was just logging in to link that to this post and you’ve gone and done it for me. 😀 I’m still unsure whether or not I will keep my account, but as IG is finally in dialogue with the public, maybe it is an option.

  2. please check out our hastag #downwithbabyrp does IG know of the sexual comments being made? we need help getting in contact with someone there,..any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

