I’m thankful for…

Day 3: I’m thankful for baking. While some  find it frustrating or nerve wracking or simply a throwback nuisance, I find it to be the perfect relaxer. For whatever reason I find comfort in knowing that step-by-step something is being created that can be enjoyed by many. It’s a great time to think and sort through things that have been pressing on my mind because the work has typically already been done and I just need to mindlessly follow directions. It’s time that I can do alone or share with someone (or some people) else that I care about. Or time to get to know someone new. And seriously, what’s better than fresh muffins or gooey, crispy cookies straight from the pan?

Today the girls and I made a mini cream cheese pound cake for our tea time. It should be noted that snack time round these parts has adopted a new name, aren’t we so continental? 😉 It’s a quick, 1 bowl recipe that makes the perfect amount for one tea time snack (+ 1 late night snack for Daddy since he’s working) for 2 little girls and their mama. And although baking with little ones can be sometimes stressful, the measuring for this recipe is so simple (1/2 dry cup and 1/2 teaspoon are really the only measuring that goes on). Try it and enjoy a piece with a steaming mug of tea on this cold, blustery day.

Leave a Reply

