Day Three: Your Parents

Main Entry: par·ent \ˈper-ənt\

Function: noun

Definition of a PARENT

1 a. : one that begets or brings forth offspring

b. : a person who brings up and cares for another

2 a. : an animal or plant that is regarded in relation to its offspring

b. : the material or source from which something is derived.

http://www.merriam-webster.com.dictionary

Today’s topic is Parents—specifically parents in my life and I have a lot. There’s Mom and Dad, otherwise known as Pete and Jill, there’s Terry and Sheila, otherwise known as my in-laws/husband’s parents and now-through our harnessed life-mine as well, there’s my birthparents who are the phantom shadow in making me who I am, and then there are Dylan and I. We are parents to a beautiful girl named Ada and a soon-to-be-born-Nellie So. Not to mention all the other people in our/my life, those have affected us in a way that I most certainly would consider them parental figures.

LOTS of parents.

And that’s certainly not a bad thing (although I didn’t necessarily always think that way).

It’s hard to put into words everything that I think of on such a topic as parents. For the adoptee it’s a source of unanswered questions and frustration. For the child it’s a complex, ever-evolving relationship that I am cultivating with my Mom and Dad as we go through each new maturation phase. For the daughter-in-law it’s a new and surprising adventure to become a part of an already functioning family. And for the parent, it’s something that I could’ve never hoped would be better, never imagined would be harder and surely never would’ve guessed at the complexity of fierce love immediately felt at the discovery of two pink lines on a pee stick.

One of the best things in the world has been raising Ada with Dylan as my partner, and I expect no less with Nellie So’s debut.

27 I prayed for this child, and the LORD has granted me what I asked of him. 28 So now I give him to the LORD. For his whole life he will be given over to the LORD.” And he worshiped the LORD there.

1 Samuel 1:27-28

Leave a Reply

