Yummy Muffins…and Good for you too!

I made muffins today that are quite tasty, if I may say so myself (and I will). And the even better part is that they’re pretty good for you too (minus the assumed slathering of butter of course). I found the recipe in the Food Everyday magazine that I started getting and adapted it a bit to fit our tastes. You should give it a go–they are quite divine and I don’t feel guilty about giving them to Ada in ones, twos or threes–should her stomach be so ravenous.

But I’ll stop babbling and give you the recipe…

“Healthy Morning Muffins”

Food Everyday adapted by Katie (that’s me!)
Makes 24
Nonstick cooking spray/muffin liners
1 1/2 c. all purpose
1 c. whole wheat
1 c. packed brown sugar
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. ground nutmeg
1 tsp. gound ginger
1 tsp. Kosher salt
2 c. old-fashioned rolled oats
1 c. raisins (I used cut up prunes because I ran out of raisins
1/2 c. walnuts, chopped; just because I love nuts.
6 Tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil (applesauce works just as well though)
2 large eggs (you can substitute 1 med. banana for each egg if you don’t want them/run out)
2/3 c. skim milk
8 medium carrots, shredded
2 medium ripe bananas, mashed

1.) Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Coat muffin pans with cooking spray/put in liners. In large bowl, whisk together flour, brown sugar, soda, powder, nutmeg, ginger, and salt til there are no lumps. Stir in oats, raisins and nuts. Add oil/applesauce, eggs, milk, carrots, and banana, and stir til blended.

2.) Fill each muffin cup with 1/4 c. batter (I filled mine more because they don’t rise too ridiculously–I think all the extra stuff weighs them down considerably). Bake until a toothpick inserted in center of a muffin comes out clean, 23-25 minutes (although I cooked mine for 22 and they were done–I think my oven runs a bit hot though).

To store, keep in an airtight container, up to 3 days.

DEEEEEEEEEEEEEElish!!
Give them a try. You won’t be disappointed.
One thought on “Yummy Muffins…and Good for you too!

Leave a Reply

