Monday Meal Plan : Blizzard Cooper edition

Today I woke up to a bonafide grownup snow day! Well, partially, 2 hours late anyway. Blizzard Cooper has wrecked a bit more havoc than I originally thought it might. It has bestowed us with a mere 4+ inches of snow but due to the winds, has created low-to-no visibility that closed interstates and highways, gave us a surprise overnight guest (thanks for staying Lee), and gave us an extra day of family time to our weekend. And luckily for me, I have an awesome husband who will shovel and snow blow our sidewalks and driveway without a second thought and then head over to his parents to do the same.

Also, you may notice that we’re having a whirlwind of countries this week on our Eat the World adventure. It’s mostly due to the fact that we missed Bosnia & Herzegovina last week and I don’t want to fall behind again. We’re not really rigid with this idea but it’s nice to keep going with the flow of momentum. Also, we’re having my co-workers over for our Bhutanese meal on Saturday night, it’ll be a series of mini parties leading up to Ada’s big birthday party in March.

And if that’s not enough, this week is Ada’s 5th birthday! “Three more sleeps” in Ada language. Ufta. Five? I’m totally unprepared.

Monday Meal Plan : 2.11-2.16

2.11 Monday* 

Breakfast: Leftover pumpkin pancakes with maple syrup

Lunch: The ultimate creamy mushrooms w/fried eggs over toasted sourdough

Tea: Cookies & assam w/milk & sugar

Dinner: Red lentil soup w/lemon & skinny green bean fries

*Extra*

Buttery pigeon pea dahl for my potluck tomorrow–you know you work in an office full of women when you have potluck themes based on Pinterest.

Roasted red pepper Parmesan cream cheese for Dylan and the girls’ bagels

2.12 Tuesday

Dinner: Eat the World 21: Bosnia & Herzegovina
2.13 Wednesday  

Dinner: Eat the World 22: Botswana
*Extra*

Miss Ada has requested a mint-chocolate-chip-Tinkerbell-ice-cream-cake. I’m thinking that this looks like a good fit? We’ll see, I think I’ll use it as a base recipe and go from there. Maybe I’ll even attempt that edible glitter I’ve seen floating around Pinterest. I think the main issue is that I’ve never made an ice cream cake before, but anything for the birthday girl, right? 

2.14 Thursday ADA’S FIVE TODAY!

Dinner: The birthday girl is still undecided as of today’s blog deadline but has narrowed it down to two options. We will either be feasting on chicken nuggets and French fries (being an unfun mom, I insisted that they would be homemade and not of the McD’s variety) or a meal out at her “favorite and bestest place to eat,” the Flying J. Yes, it is a gas station diner. Yes, I am proud. ;-)

Breakfast: Fruit smoothies w/toast

Tea Time: Ada will be at Terry’s…

Dinner: Tonight we will be taking a break from our Friday night pizzas in order to roast the giant ham that I’m slowly defrosting in my refrigerator. I am drooling thinking about the burnt bits. Nom nom nom. And I’ll be making this delectable looking side dish, Roasted Parmesan onions to go alongside….oooh…and maybe some roasted broccoli bites too.

2.16 Saturday

Breakfast: Creamy, cheesy grits with crisped ham 
Lunch: Leftovers/sandwiches  
Tea: Leftover ice cream cake

Dinner: Eat the World 23: Bhutan

2.17 Sunday

Breakfast: Toast & jam w/coffee & juice
Lunch: @ Terry & Sheila’s
Tea: Salted peanuts w/assam, milk & sugar 

Dinner: Crockpot tomato basil Parmesan soup w/sourdough

Enjoy the snow and be safe! (Also, family and friends, please keep your eyes a’peeled for a pony-tastic party invite in honor a little miss someone’s 5th birthday!)

Leave a Reply

